The idea of traveling to wine country made me feel mature, elegant, and classy. Of course I knew full well that I would neither taste any wine nor do I have an experienced palette to even appreciate alleged wine. Regardless, seeing wine country was one thing that I knew I couldn’t miss out on while living in this wonderful Bay Area.

The town of Sonoma is quite unique, and definitely a place worth your time. It’s main area is a giant square plaza with the visitor bureau in the middle of a park area. Surrounding the plaza is the block of streets lined with authentic storefronts and restaurants that give the area an “old time” feel. Each hotel, restaurant, and shop has it’s own story and history. Highlights while touring the square included tasting a myriad of cheeses at The Sonoma Cheese Factory and visiting the Mission San Francisco de Solano.

Mission San Francisco de Solano

Obviously I could not leave wine country without touring a vineyard. I arrived at the rustic, family owned Cline Cellar Winery and felt like I stepped into plush green, homey landscape. Surrounding the farmhouse style tasting room were moss-covered ponds and overbearing willow trees. It seems to be a great place to have a party or wedding, elegant yet down to earth. Although harvest season has passed, I could smell the smooth sweetness of red wine as we entered the barrel room and toured where the bottling took place.  It seems to me that wineries have a certain magic about them, all the work that goes into producing such a fine flavor, it combines the work of a farm, experimentation, and good taste, not to mention the presentation that makes each, grape, vine, barrel, and bottle unique.

Tasting Room in the distance

Sonoma Valley is definitely a place worth visiting, filled with lush rolling green hills and miles of vineyards. But it is more than that, Sonoma is town filled with a rich history and thriving industry.