The Aromas of Sonoma

The idea of traveling to wine country made me feel mature, elegant, and classy. Of course I knew full well that I would neither taste any wine nor do I have an experienced palette to even appreciate alleged wine. Regardless, seeing wine country was one thing that I knew I couldn’t miss out on while living in this wonderful Bay Area.

Stepping of the bus I was gracefully greeted by clean rolling hills, quaint storefronts, and a breath of fresh air. Pleasantly surprised by this unique entrance to a town known for being a staple in wine country, I was excited for what was in store for this sunny and clear January day.

I entered the old brick building that was located in the center of the park in the town’s plaza to find some information about this unfamiliar place from the Visitor’s Bureau. The people were friendly and ready to bestow some great information about a somewhat looked-over town. We started the tour in front of the Mission San Francisco de Solano, the last of the Spanish Missions along California’s “El Camino Real”; it was founded in 1823. The building is authentic in the sincerest of ways, stark white exterior, deep-set windows, and a beautiful red roof. I enjoyed learning the history of the building from the State Park Historian Marianne Hurley; she also offered much insight to the unique structure across the street from the mission called the Blue Wing Inn, the oldest adobe structure visible to the public north of the Bay. General Vallejo built it around 1840 to accommodate the travelers coming through the town.

After the brief but extensive history lesson, we toured the northern part of the square to find exceptional restaurants, shops, and hotels such as the world-famous the Girl and the Fig restaurant, and the savory Sonoma Cheese Factory where you can sample as many types of cheese as you like. I got the feeling of a tight-knit community as our tour guide ran into a group of women she knew eating lunch at the Swiss Hotel, an indication of a friendly town and a great place to visit.

Moving on from the town plaza I ventured to what Sonoma is known for, beautiful wineries. I traveled along the road passing miles of vineyards on my way to Cline Cellars. I arrived at the rustic, family owned winery and felt like I stepped into plush green, homey landscape. Surrounding the farmhouse style tasting room were moss-covered ponds and overbearing willow trees. It seemed like a great place to have a party or wedding, elegant yet down to earth. Although harvest season had passed, I could smell the smooth sweetness of red wine as we entered the barrel room and I toured where the bottling took place.  Having never toured a winery before, I decided that they have a certain magic about them, all the work that goes into producing such a fine flavor, it combines the work of a farm, experimentation, and good taste, not to mention the presentation that makes each, grape, vine, barrel, and bottle unique.

My well-rounded trip to Sonoma came to an end, and I left satisfied and knowledgeable about a place I knew nothing about when I arrived. Sonoma is more than a visit to wine country, although that is a great excuse for going. It is a pleasant town filled with thriving industry and plenty to discover.

Visiting Sonoma?

Here’s some information.

Cline Cellars:

Phone: (707) 940-4030

Address: 24737 Arnold Drive,

Sonoma, CA 95476

Website: www.clinecellars.com

Sonoma Valley Visitors Bureau:

Phone: (707)996-1090 x106

Address: 453 First Street,

Sonoma, CA 95476

Website: www.sonomavalley.com